kettlebell weights

Options
I have been reading that working out at home with kettlebells really helps with toning etc, my question is how do you choose which weight is for you, as I will be buying on line, also any recommendations.

Thanks

Replies

• goldenpawz99
    Options
    HI There!
    I'm glad you posted this. A little while back I posted a question too about kettlebells. I started up with a rather small weight and quickly went to 15 lb bell. To some that seems small weight but I'm still a beginner. Someone had suggested a book to read and DVD that you can purchase on Amazon, her name is Tracy Reifkind. She lost over 100lbs she is really inspiring and is a trainer now. Also another good one to check out is Lauren Brooks; on Amazon as well. If you have a Target near you I bought a Reebock kettlebell there. Pretty good quality. Good luck to you!
    -Michelle
  • Mangolassi260
    Mangolassi260 Posts: 15 Member
    Options
    I bought the Bob Harper contoured kettlebells at Target. Love his Cardio Shred Inside Out Method. I started last October with a 5lb and fairly quickly moved to the 10lb. I started doing kettlebell workout more religiously just in the last 2 weeks, almost every day and now only use the 10lb. I have a 15lb, but not ready for that yet. I love the extra energy I have from doing this, and it is full body toning! My legs are shapelier than they've EVER been, and I love my arms. I can see my six-pack abs peeking through a top layer of flab! LOL.
  • cordianet
    cordianet Posts: 534 Member
    Options
    According to "Enter the Kettlebell", by Pavel Tsatsouline (considered to be the father of the modern kettelbell movement in the US), an average female should start with an 18lb kettlebell. If you are really out of shape, maybe start at 15, but when you go much lower, the question is why bother with a kettlebell at all? You could do the same movements with any light weight.
  • emtron500
    emtron500 Posts: 102 Member
    Options