Feeling mentally tired from the gym

Options
I'm about 5"1 (or shorter) and 97 pounds. I've been trying to cut body fat through cardio and strength training but I've been feeling pretty unmotivated as of late. I dread workouts and feel tired. I do circuits but end up only doing 10/15 minutes and then giving up. I know I have it in me to complete it but my mind is tired. I used to workout everyday but now I can't seem to get myself to do it.

I tried to take a break from the gym for a week but I felt so guilty after a day and went back to it anyway, doing half-assed workouts that made me feel like s***. I know I'm not fat nor am I overweight. I am very petite and at a healthy weight, but there's just some excess fat that I need to lose.

Should I take a short break from exercising? If so, how long?

Replies

• flisafakto
    flisafakto Posts: 143 Member
    Options
    I'm not an expert at this or anything, but I would recommend getting an appointment with a trainer, and ask them for some advice. I did that with strength training to rebuild muscle mass lost while dieting, and I found it gave me a new outlook on working out.

I just had one appointment where I told the trainer what I was looking for, what I was used to doing on my own. I'd love to work out with a PT but they're crazy expensive. I didn't have to pay much just for one hour with a trainer, and I haven't regretted it once.
  • diver71_au
    diver71_au Posts: 424 Member
    Options
    Vary your routine .... take a walk .... ride a bike ....take a swing dancing class ....... everything gets boring if you stay with the one routine ... shake it up.
  • GloynByw
    GloynByw Posts: 24 Member
    Options
    Vary your routine .... take a walk .... ride a bike ....take a swing dancing class ....... everything gets boring if you stay with the one routine ... shake it up.

I agree. Take a cardio class or dancing or something different. A change is as good as a rest.
  • JennieAL
    JennieAL Posts: 1,726 Member