Protein Shakes?

Options
jynxxxed
jynxxxed Posts: 1,010 Member
I'm very new to dieting/exercising and I am still trying to figure out ways to be healthy as well as lose weight. I have heard a lot of different things about drinking protein shakes and the most popular thing I hear is that they're only for bodybuilders/people who lift a lot. But then I see people like myself drinking them as well on occasion.

I am someone who works out at home, runs on the treadmill.. I don't lift or anything like that. I'm only working out around 30 minutes every day. Would drinking protein shakes be a good thing for me to start doing? I am already eating egg whites/lots of fish and such to gain some protein every day so I'm not sure if it would help or hurt me in the long run!

Any feed back is MUCH appreciated!

Replies

• leodru
    leodru Posts: 321 Member
    Options
    Nothing wrong with eating good proteins. Whey is a great source of protein. Protein takes longer to digest so it holds you over longer. Have a shake - no harm in it. The fruit in it is great for you too. Weight loss isnt a complete science (hence the reason why there are more "diet" businesses raking in billions but yet still more obese people around. Your concern should be more about eating too many simple white carbs. High fibre, higher protein and you'll be good. Good luck!
  • schneidersas
    Options
    I do strength training and used to believe I have to go with protein shakes and/or whey ..... I stopped believing this stuff ..
    Good proteins are in eggs, fish, ham, chicken .... so no need for extra shakes ... but if you like them .. ;)
  • jgic2009
    jgic2009 Posts: 531 Member
    Options
    If you are meeting your protein goals with whole foods, there is no need to add protein shakes.
  • jynxxxed
    Options
    Awesome, thank you guys! I've been trying to make sure I'm getting my protein in with food instead, so it seemed a little silly to add additional supplements!
  • Anna800