Food Shopping - How to eat HEALTHY for cheap

Options
Can anyone please give tips on how to decrease the cost of grocery bills? Everyone always says buying healthy food is not more expensive... yet it's RARELY on sale.. Chips, crackers, soda, ice cream... are on sale every week. I'm a full time student and only work part time so trying to eat healthy gets very tough. I'm trying to cut back on processed foods, but buying all fresh produce hardly lasts me a week. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!!

P.S. I don't have time to be a crazy coupon lady lol :wink:

Replies

• lsjd2000
    lsjd2000 Posts: 287 Member
    Options
    Hit up your local farmers markets and see what they are charging- I also tend to go to the store more times a week when buying healthy since fresh stuff goes quicker (eaten and spoiling) Are you able to grow any in a garden or know someone with a garden I have pp all the time at work that are offereing things out of their gardens for cheap or free cause they have way too much
  • IronSmasher
    IronSmasher Posts: 3,908 Member
    Options
    And that's my argument for what's wrong with shops in this obesity epidemic.

My number one tip would be frozen, but compare the price of every option for price to weight before choosing. Sometimes fresh chicken can work put cheaper, usually the already diced kind.
  • CrystalX82
    CrystalX82 Posts: 68 Member
    Options
    I WISH i had the space for a garden! I live in an upstairs apartment :frown: I cannot wait to get a house one day so i can have a beautiful garden! but by then I'll be a pharmacist and able to afford healthy foods lol

Moving to Indiana I figured there would be local farmer's markets everywhere. Unfortunately there are very few around me. I need to do some more research though because that's a great option... and whenever I happened to drive by one i NEVER have cash on me! lol
  • _Mimi_
    _Mimi_ Posts: 233
    Options