Lunch/snack ideas for nurses?

Options
MrsTomy
MrsTomy Posts: 504 Member
I'm a nursing student and I just got a job as a nurse extern at a nerby hospital. I am working in the surgical/trauma ICU and I am really excited about it! Only thing is I will have very little time (30 mins max) to eat lunch...and I will be working 12 hour shifts! What are some foods I can eat that will keep me full for that long without being bad for me?

Replies

• MrsTomy
    MrsTomy Posts: 504 Member
    Options
    I'm a nursing student and I just got a job as a nurse extern at a nerby hospital. I am working in the surgical/trauma ICU and I am really excited about it! Only thing is I will have very little time (30 mins max) to eat lunch...and I will be working 12 hour shifts! What are some foods I can eat that will keep me full for that long without being bad for me?
  • ali106
    ali106 Posts: 3,754 Member
    Options
    hmm we'll something that will fill you up and last would be protien and fiber....so how about a nice turkey wrap (whole wheat wrap, with tons of veggies and maybe some lite mayo) maybe a yogurt and fruit to go along...that would fill me up and last I think....can you keep snacks for a quick pick me up, like granola or fiber one bars for when you feel hungry again but can't stop for a meal....

good profession girl!!!

hugs and good luck!
    Ali
  • celeste15
    celeste15 Posts: 51
    Options
    I am also a nursing student and recently started working at a hospital as a CNA. I have only worked there for about a month now and at first, I did find it hard get the right snacks in, not only to fill me up but also ones that weren't filled with a ton of calories. And the 12 hour shifts were difficult at first but I love it! I work the night shift, 7p-7a, (that was another task for finding the right foods) but I usually take, Fiber One bars, peanut butter crackers, bananas, Wheat thins or popcorn. Big meals usually never happen, no time!!

Good luck in your studies!