When does running become "fun"?

Options

Replies

• FL_Nettie
    FL_Nettie Posts: 265 Member
    Options
    I've been running off and on for about 1 1/2 years now. And I still don't "love" it. I don't know that running and I will ever be best buddies, but I've learned to get along with it.

Like others have said, once I got off the treadmill and started running outside it was so much better. I kinda like running outside. But right now it's still almost 90 degrees when I get home so it's back to the treadmill until the end of September.

Also, as others have said, set a goal for yourself. My first goal was to do a mile without stopping. Once I did that I did a mud run (AWESOME). After that a sprint triathlon (DOUBLE AWESOME). Then last December I ran a half marathon. And looking back, I have to admit I did love running the half marathon. I just couldn't believe I was actually doing it and just really enjoyed the experience.

So try a few things (running outside, setting some goals) and see if that helps with the joy of running :smile:
  • cavewoman15
    cavewoman15 Posts: 278 Member
    Options
    running become fun to me when a 3 mile run could be done easily - meaning, i had to push speed or distance to make it a hard workout. then, lots of fun stuff can be done. :)
  • debussyschild
    debussyschild Posts: 804 Member
    Options