RE: 30 Day Shred (push ups)

Options
So, I've just completed day four of the 30 Day Shred. However I'm still only able to do three or our push ups throughout the whole thing. I don't have any problems with the other workouts within the DVD that target the arms. It's just these damned push ups. :grumble:
My question is - will they get easier as I continue with level 1? If not are there are any simple exercises I can do to improve, or should I be practising push ups more? :smile:
(Sorry about all these questions; I'm a complete novice.)

Replies

• iSpuggz
    iSpuggz Posts: 39
    Options
    Which push ups are you doing? From the knees or toes?

If you're doing them from the toes, I'd go down to the knees until you can build upper body strength. You can also try to add in some additional workouts for the shoulders, chest and triceps to improve your strength.

You can also try the 100 push ups program.

http://hundredpushups.com/

They DO get easier.
  • butterflylover527
    butterflylover527 Posts: 940 Member
    Options
    I literally cannot do push ups. I don't get the form and my arms are too weak to do them anyway. Sorry, not much help :/
  • lauralind5
    lauralind5 Posts: 133 Member
    Options
    Do the knee ones until you can do all of those, then start incorporating the toe ones (I lost a TON of inches doing the 30DS, and I cant do but about 3 "real" pushups yet) It will still work and you will still gain upper body strength, but you have to do them in order to get there, so do the knee ones.
  • medoria
    medoria Posts: 673 Member
    Options
    Ive been doing several JM workouts since february last year and I didnt start doing the pushups on my toes until january this year. So start at the knees and work yourself up from there. When you feel you can do all reps on the knees in the both sets and the strength for a couple of more reps, then move up to the toes. Or do the first set on the toes, and the second on the knees.
  • SPNLuver83