Trying to gain muscle

Options
I've been losing weight for a couple months, and just started taking Creatine to try to gain muscle. I also do chest presses and bicep curls, but I'm not seeing any results.I feel I am at my ideal weight but I am wanting to lose more body fat, and build more muscle. Any advice on diet and exercise that will help me reach my goals?

Replies

• smiles04
    Options
    Hey :smile: I am also trying to gain some muscle weight. I find it helps to drink a protein shake after every workout or sometimes at least just once a day. A peanut butter and jelly sandwich before bed each night couldn't hurt either. Try getting in as much protein and carbs as you can and really work on strength training. I hope you can accomplish your goals!
  • songbyrdsweet
    songbyrdsweet Posts: 5,691 Member
    Options
    You can't pedal a bike in two directions at once.
    If you want to lose fat, you need a caloric deficit. This means your body has to use fat to make energy because it doesn't have enough calories available.
    If you want to gain muscle, you need extra calories. This gives you more 'building blocks' to build muscle.

So one thing doesn't happen at the same time as the other.
  • fastplastic
    fastplastic Posts: 7 Member
    Options
    p90x ...its the real deal
  • metalpalace
    Options
    If you want to lose fat, you need a caloric deficit. This means your body has to use fat to make energy because it doesn't have enough calories available.
    If you want to gain muscle, you need extra calories. This gives you more 'building blocks' to build muscle.

In theory you're kind of right but I whole heart-idly disagree with you as well as the theory. Like fastplastic just stated... P90X is the real deal. I know literally hundreds of people who lost fat while simultaneously putting on muscle mass on that program.
  • vhuber
    vhuber Posts: 8,779 Member
    Options
    [/quote]