Recomposition: Maintaining weight while losing fat

Options

Replies

• robininfl
    robininfl Posts: 1,137 Member
    Options
    Bioklutz, your lats look bigger and more defined in the second picture. Both look pretty freaking awesome though.
  • bioklutz
    bioklutz Posts: 1,365 Member
    Options
    Thanks Retirehappy & Robininfl.

I have been doing this for a year and 4 months now. I think I look drastically different from when I started. I have really been itching to run a bulk and cut though. At the end of July or early August I am breaking up with recomp! I am excited to try lifting in a surplus!
  • Kerryatoon
    Kerryatoon Posts: 374 Member
    Options
    Still consider myself new to weight training here.. still struggling to sever my emotional attachment to the scale after a period of 1-2lb week weight loss.

I have been attempting to get into recomp for the last 5 weeks. I realized this morning, even though I haven't seen the scale move more than 1/2 lb in 5 weeks, I've lost 2" on my hips, 1.5" on my waist and almost 1" on my thigh. I also increased my calories from 1200 and have been eating 1500-1600 during that time, as suggested by some of you in this thread. I have increased my squat weight +30lb, bench +30lb, OH press +15lb, and my deadlift +40lbs over these same 5 weeks.

SO my question is at this point can I consider myself in RECOMP?

If I'm increasing muscle strength and mass and still weigh the same I must be losing body fat right?

Is this a long enough period to determine that my current cal goals are appropriate?
  • sijomial
    sijomial Posts: 19,811 Member
    Options
    Kerryatoon wrote: »
    Still consider myself new to weight training here.. still struggling to sever my emotional attachment to the scale after a period of 1-2lb week weight loss.