Want to help my teenage niece...

Options
I have always been, and always will be conscious of my weight/health. I am a fitness instructor, and I count calories daily and am still struggling to lose the last 5lbs that I need. That said, I have a beautiful niece. She is beautiful on the inside and out, but she is extremely overweight. She is 17, and both of her parents are overweight. I have never said anything to her about her weight, but try to be a good role model by talking about my classes, and food that I've made hoping that one day she would feel comfortable enough to come and ask me for advice. She never has...I've gone out to eat with her, and I see her eating far more calories in 1 meal that I might eat in 2 or sometimes even 3 meals in a day. Do I need to completely stay out of this, and mind my own business? Can I even bring up the topic with her? Should I? I love her so much, and she is so smart, and going off to University in the fall and I just really worry about her, because people can be really mean. Someone told me that she is probably happy the way she is, and that I should just stay out of it. Any thought? Maybe some girls on here that wish their aunts had intervened? All I really want is for her to be happy and one day find love...

Replies

• MinnieInMaine
    MinnieInMaine Posts: 6,400 Member
    Options
    Nope, don't do it. Even with the best of intentions, you could really hurt her feelings and create a rift. I'm sure she knows she's obese and she knows what you do for a living and could come to you if she wanted to..and maybe she will when she's ready.

She's at the age that I was when I started gaining weight, and trust me, it wouldn't matter what anyone said to me at that point or even for the next 15 years. While I wish I'd started being healthier sooner, someone intervening would not have been the answer. She has to figure it out for herself.