Is anyone here eating a gluten free diet AND counting calories?

Options
I need to start eating gluten free for medical reasons and I'm thinking about possibly counting calories too. Just wondering if anyone else here does this. Any tips, pointers, etc. for staying within my cals, feeling satisfied, etc. while eating gluten free would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Replies

• ana3067
    ana3067 Posts: 5,623 Member
    Options
    Yes, because I've been eating GF for 4+ years (IBS-type issues) and still got fat by over-eating non-glutinous stuff.

I stay within my calories and feel satisfied by pretty much just having reasonable goals and eating anything I want as long as I hit my protein and fat minimums. I also divide my net needs into 3 meals and eat that every meal. If I exercise then I will eat the extra cals whenever I feel like that day.
  • jvs125
    jvs125 Posts: 223 Member
    Options
    Hi,
    GF for 7+ years here. Also counting calories. Easiest way to stay on track is to eat veggies, fruits, meat, nuts, dairy if you can stand it (gluten intolerants often have issues with lactose as well, so watch for that).

Don't replace your gluten items by processed gluten free ones, it's expensive and usually very high in calories. I use those products as a treat from time to time but not part of the every day diet. I watch my carb intake anyway, so it's easier to just not replace the grains!

• Soon2BeSkinny321
    Soon2BeSkinny321 Posts: 13 Member
    Options
    Thanks for your input ladies.
  • knittnponder
    knittnponder Posts: 1,954 Member
    Options
    I've been gluten free for almost four years and gained weight when I first cut the gluten because I was trying out so many new recipes. Gluten free isn't magically going to make you lose weight. I count calories and I don't eat grain or potatoes for medical reasons. :)
  • froggiebecky
    froggiebecky Posts: 24 Member
    Options