Do you even lift, bro?

Options
Oh you do?
Then help a sista out ;)

2 words: Muscle imbalance...

muscle-imbalance-body.jpg

So I recently started lifting and I realized that my right arm is stronger than my left; my left leg is stronger than my right; and the right half of my back (and abs) is stronger than the left... other than affecting size, this does affect how I lift (obviously) and though I'm trying to lead more with the weaker side, I can't help but wonder if I can be doing more.
How should I go about fixing this?

I assume the answer will be somewhere along the lines of drop weight or do more reps on one side? But then the question is, am I stuck at the weight I'm at until the issue is resolved or can I add more weights and sort of fix as I go?

As background info, the lifts I'm doing right now are deadlift, squat, benchpress, overhead press, machine pull downs, and machine rows. Currently not doing anything with free weights or any accessory lifts

Thanks in advance :)

Replies

• Fitteacherc
    Fitteacherc Posts: 38 Member
    Options
    I have balance issues as well - my left side is stronger than my right side. This has a huge impact on the mechanics of my lifts (especially my squat). Although I can do a back squat, I've been spending a lot of time working on weighted step ups, lunges, and front squats. While I do these exercises, I pay particular attention to my form. I can definitely tell I'm getting stronger on my right side. Also, part of the issue is the neurological connections your brain has with muscle tissue on your 'weak side'. Is it possible for you to get an experienced powerlifting coach for 1-2 sessions? They should be able to diagnose the issue and give you exercises.
  • LolBroScience
    LolBroScience Posts: 4,537 Member
    Options
    Unilateral work
  • JTick
    JTick Posts: 2,131 Member
    Options