Scared to maintain

Options
Hello....First a great big thanks to all at MFP, and these discussion boards. I have finally made, my goal weight!

I am now scared, to go to maintain, as every time i eat a few more calories, 100-200 a day more, I gain 2-3 lbs, so I go back to 1200, for a few days, until I get to my goal again. I can't do this for the rest of my life, so now what?.

I burn, according to Fitbit, 1700, calories a day, and only maintain, at eating 1200. I don't lose to gain, surly with a 500 deficit, a day i would keep losing.

I am very new to this, and only just understand losing.

I don't think i could even eat 1700 a day.

I am 5ft 3in, and weight 8.5 stone. This is what i want to be.

Any help at all would be appreciated , I have spent a long time trying to look at maintenance discussions but still don't understand....is the 177 i show calories out, on Fitbit, my TDEE?
Also if I stick to 1200, but have mainly sugar that day, i put on weight!...I thought the sugar content did not matter unless you exceeded, your calorie intake...

Thanking any one in advance,
Melanie

Replies

• jim180155
    jim180155 Posts: 769 Member
    Options
    Increasing your intake by 500 calories, even though it is a return to maintenance, can cause a small but sudden weight increase. It's probably nothing to worry about. You can take two different approaches:

1. Eat 1700 calories. Gain a few pounds. Wait. Don't get upset. Keep eating 1700 calories. Give it a couple weeks. Your weight should have leveled out and on any particular day you are just as likely to weigh a pound or two less as you are a pound or two more.