Beginner's guide to Weightlifting plans: Part1 -Why you need to lift!

Options
AlinaRose17
AlinaRose17 Posts: 92 Member
edited November 2014 in Fitness and Exercise
Hello all! I have been lifting routinely now for several years and have gone from 220 lbs, 22% bodyfat (inactive) to 178lbs, under 12% bodyfat and exercising routinely. I know that diet accounts for 70% of weight loss and getting fit, but I wanted to try to help anyone who is looking at how to fit in a strength/weight lifting routine into their schedule based on my own experience. First, though a few reasons why you should consider including weights and strength training into your life if you desire to be fit-

It is well known that a cardio-only routine is a quick way to being discouraged because although you can burn a large amount of calories- you only burn them for the time that you are doing work, be it running outside, on the treadmill, stationary bike, elliptical, etc.
Also, doing long periods of steady-state cardio can actually put the body into a catabolic state where you burn not only fat but also muscle! This is not wanted because the more muscle you have, the more fat your body naturally burns to maintain itself and without it, you will only defeat your intentions, stall your metabolism, or get frustrated!
Now, I am a firm believer that both steady-state cardio and its more muscle-friendly, higher-calorie-burning cousin, HIIT, have their place in fitness...but I am a VERY firm believer in weight/strength training composing 80% or more of ones exercise routine only supplemented by cardio.

When you lift and train muscle, and have a proper diet with sufficient levels of protein intake, your muscles will actually burn more calories at a higher rate for up to 48-72 hours after training which is a much better "return on investment" than going into the gym for just cardio! You may have heard of this as the "after burn effect" by internet celebrities like Mike Chang of sixpackshortcuts.com.