I want to start up again and I have some questions!

Options
I started calorie counting on June 10 2014. I set my limit to 1450 calories a day, and I was 204 pounds. (5'2.5 too :smile:) All summer, I adhered by my limits and ended up being 185 pounds on August 12th. However, somewhere around...190 pounds, I changed my caloric intake to 1350.
I began college in early September, and I'm a resident which means I'm forced to eat the dining hall food. Long story short, since getting to college I have failed and today I weighed myself and I'm 198. This is extremely saddening for me. It's so hard to count calories when I'm at school. (also, I don't drink.)
However, there is a gym to use at my disposal and a salad bar. (which may i add, i have failed to use that salad bar, I think I've eaten salad like 4 times in being in University.)
I've been to the gym quite a few times but clearly it hasn't helped too much. And oddly enough, I am a million times more active at school because it's a big campus and it was built basically on a hill that I have to climb daily to get to classes, and pretty much anywhere.
I really want to get back on track. I need a push. I'd love to get back to 185 soon, but my ultimate goal is to be 140 pounds. I've been well overweight my entire life. I'd love to know what it feels like to be thin.
So I have some questions:
1) how can I stay motived? it's so hard counting at school and everyone else is always eating. food is such a social thing at school.
2) should I burn any calories I eat over my caloric intake goal? Is that what eating back exercise calories means? or should I eat them back if I end up under my goal? for example, if my goal for the day is 1400 calories but I ate 1700, would I just burn the 300 or would I eat them back? (sorry if this is confusing~)
3) does anyone have any tips - any at all - for the gym and making this easier and more efficient since I know have a gym literally a short walk away?