• jim_just_jim
    jim_just_jim Posts: 148 Member
    Options
    An apple a day ....
  • AmigaMaria001
    AmigaMaria001 Posts: 489 Member
    edited December 2014
    Options
    I totally get why you want to stop snacking. I didn't get fat from eating meals - I got fat from snacking - plain and simple!
    - I now eat only three meals a day without any snacks - been doing this for 10 months but I still want a snack every night when I sit down in front of the TV.
    So here is what I've done... I keep several of my favorite sugarless gum flavors next to my chair and chew gum whenever I want to snack. I also keep a pot of freshly brewed tea in the kitchen and drink Iced Tea with saccharine to sweeten it. Both these things really help! But I've been snacking for 61 years so it's going to be a really hard habit to break.
  • 999tigger
    999tigger Posts: 5,235 Member
    Options
    Maybe do what the others suggested and try the six smaller meals.
    Also eat stuff that keeps you full.
    Exercise can earn you the eatback calories.
  • icrushit
    icrushit Posts: 773 Member
    edited December 2014
    Options
    I would like to be able to do the same, and found lemurcat12's post above quite valuable. I shall definitely keep an eye on things here for other good tips.

Right now I am suspecting it shall be like how I gave up sugar for example, where I just cut it back little by little, but with snacking, even when I'm only having something like a single square of chocolate and a dozen almonds between meals, it just seems difficult to make the leap from that to nothing between meals..
  • SteampunkSongbird
    SteampunkSongbird Posts: 826 Member
    Options
    It's not really mindless snacking if you're actually feeling hungry.
  • LookingBusy
    LookingBusy Posts: 72 Member
    Options