Low income grocery shopping tips for a newbie to adult crap.

Options

Replies

• VCopple
    VCopple Posts: 56 Member
    Options
    I am a student and I work at a school. My budget is about $200 per month for a family of 3.

I buy frozen vegetables and fresh fruit. I buy the fruit when it is in season, and the veggies will stay in the freezer forever. I buy turkey sausage and sometimes kielbasa because it is pre-cooked and I can freeze it. I will also occasionally buy a very large piece of meat and cook it. The first week of October I bought an 11 pound spiral sliced ham. I baked it, then cut it up. Half went straight into the fridge, the other half went straight into the freezer. I took the bone and any meat attached to it and put that in the freezer as well.

I was able to eat one half of the ham every day for two weeks before I ran out of recipes I had on hand. Then, I took the bone out of the freezer and made a delicious split pea soup which I was able to eat for lunch every day for another week. I finally got tired of ham after three weeks, and then moved on to other things in my pantry. November rolled around and I was running low on food, so I pulled out the other half of the ham that was frozen and again ate for another two weeks.

Another thing I do is buy chicken. It is cheap and versatile. If you spend a little extra money and buy the individually wrapped breasts they stay in the freezer forever without getting freezer burned. Chicken and rice or chicken and beans with some vegetables will go a long way for your budget and your diet.

Finally, if you run out of food, (which happens to me occasionally when my students are out for the winter break and I don't get paid) don't be too proud to go to a food bank. Don't abuse them, but you can go and get help from them to bolster up your pantry for a few weeks.
  • withintherose
    withintherose Posts: 36 Member
    Options