52 pounds in 52 weeks

Options
jemhh
jemhh Posts: 14,261 Member
I really enjoy reading everybody's success stories. They are so inspiring and fun so I thought I'd try my hand at one and holy cow this has been hard to write. The "don't brag" and "you're not there yet" thoughts are strong, is what I'm saying. But I'm just going to tell my brain to shut it for awhile. So here goes.

I was very thin through high school. I graduated at about 115 lbs. at 5'6". I was thin but very weak. I can remember in gym class we had a unit on weightlifting and the gym teacher had me test my bench press first so I could max out immediately and then sit there and record everybody else's lifts so he didn't have to. In college I went up to 127 but was much more fit because I walked a ton. Still didn't do any strength training though.

Once I graduated from college I got an office job and turned into a typical sedentary worker bee. My weight went up, of course, and for the first time ever I started dieting. My starting point was 148 lbs. and I eventually got down to 136. Soon after, I got a promotion at work and exercising fell by the wayside due to working more hours. For the next 10+ years I did the yo-yo diet, on/off exercise thing.

then_zpse6591d98.jpg
(I posted these in another thread once before, I think. They are the only “before” pictures I have because I avoided getting my picture taken whenever possible. I avoided looking at myself whenever possible, actually, and the only full length mirror in the house was in my daughter’s room. Still is but now I actually use it too ;).)

By January 2014, I was 202.5 pounds (50+ lbs. overweight) and extremely out of shape. My self esteem was down in the dumps and my health was headed there as well (sleep apnea, PCOS, etc.) I can remember thinking to myself that I was 37 years old and feeling like garbage due to my body had to stop. I needed to either accept myself as I was and stop moping about it or get it together and make a change.