Vegan - need protein help!

Options
Liz4J
Liz4J Posts: 23 Member
Hi!
When I say 'vegan' I don't eat meat but I do eat eggs and cheese. I'm not really a milk drinker either.
I'm new to weight loss and trying to get my groove. Anyone have ideas on how I can get more protein? I get tired of eating eggs, cheese and nuts all the time. I have just started putting protein powder in my smoothies.
Thanks for any tips you can share!

Replies

• corgicake
    corgicake Posts: 846 Member
    Options
    Processed things are your friend. There's wheat and soy not-meats... they're called seitan, tofu, tempeh, and tvp. Tofu is notoriously difficult to make tasty and I've got zero experience with tempeh, but the other two can be subbed right in for meat in recipes. PB2 and knockoffs are from peanuts and I don't know what they're good for yet, but I've got a jar to use up. I get my protein from a health food mail order outfit based in the next town over and their free delivery shows up in three to four days.

Mind your essential amino acids because being short on one will limit how much protein your body actually has to work with. Lysine is so predictable for vegans to be short on that I've seen it sold in one pound tubs. I usually go to peacounter.com for if I need the amino acid breakdown for something.

Yeah, that was probably a chunk to read but veggie protein is a bit messier to work with than it looks.
  • awesomejdad
    awesomejdad Posts: 493 Member
    Options
    Ummm.....Your a vegetarian. You are not a Vegan.
  • Laurend224
    Laurend224 Posts: 1,748 Member
    Options
    Ummm.....Your a vegetarian. You are not a Vegan.

Yes. You should have no problem getting in protein. But some of my go to forms (I am vegan) are beans, lentils, tofu, seitan, split peas, tvp, spirulina, chia seeds, and more recently gardein products. There are many many veggie burgers in the freezer section that are vegetarian, with added cheese and or egg. Those should meet your needs too.