Got tips?

Options
Hi there. Any one got any advice and/or tips for making a eating schedule for a really skinny guy trying to gain weight? :smile: I'm an engineer student so i don't have a lot of time on my hands so i stopped working out and started missing meals too. So now i'm trying to get in shape again and gain some weight. I don't really have any idea about counting calories or trying to keep a diet, i basically eat whatever i feel like and it doesn't work out pretty well obviously.
I'm 42 kilograms(92 pounds, ~6 stones) and my goal is around 55-60 kilograms(121 pounds, ~8 stones). Everyone's opinion is very much appreciated. :blush:

Replies

• xcalygrl
    xcalygrl Posts: 1,897 Member
    Options
    For starters, you can go here (http://scoobysworkshop.com/calorie-calculator/#projectedweightloss) to figure out a rough estimate of your TDEE. You'll want to put in your goal as "gain" so that it knows you want to eat above your TDEE and gain weight.

Once you get that, you'll need to measure and log items so you can see if you're hitting the number it gives you. If you aren't you'll need to add more food. If you are, good. If you are hitting that number and not gaining, you'll need to add more calories since the calculations are just "best guesses" based off of an equation.
  • MushroomMuncherr
    Options
    Thank you!
  • xmichaelyx
    xmichaelyx Posts: 883 Member
    Options
    Drink more calories. Milk, weight gainer, protein shakes, even soda IIFYM.

You can also stick to an eating routine more easily if you cook in bulk, and heat up your pre-made food as needed. My first successful gain (from around 130 to about 160) was helped tremendously by making huge amounts of pasta every week, bagging it into individual baggies, and then putting it back into boiling water for 30-seconds or so as needed (I learned this from working in a restaurant).

Now I just make a vat of chili every 2 weeks, freeze it in individual containers, and microwave as needed.