Mixing Strength Training and Cardio

bioklutz
bioklutz Posts: 1,365 Member
Does anyone enjoy both cardio and strength training? How do you mix the two? Do you do cardio on rest days? Do you do both cardio and strength training on the same day and do nothing on rest days?

A little background about me: For the last 5 years or so I have been doing cardio only. I did 30 minutes 5-7 days a week. I might not always enjoy it - but I do it because I feel good after. I sleep better. I am not winded going up stairs. I have more stamina and energy. I lost weight and ate more.

So fast forward to this year. I turned 40, I gained 2 pounds. I had been maintaining at 110 for several years. It was a real gain of 2 pounds - I monitored it. In any case, I made an account. I dropped the 2 pounds easily. I intentionally dropped a couple more pounds because Thanksgiving and Christmas were coming up. I am at 102/103 at the moment. This weight would have looked sickly on my younger self. I have definitely lost muscle mass and I do fear losing bone mass.

Thanks to the advice of this forum I got the book New Rules of Lifting for Life. I recently finished it and started yesterday. Yesterday I felt fine afterwards but today I am a little sore. I lowered my resistance on my bike and did 30 minutes. I am wondering if that is a mistake? If I am sore should I not do anything? The book did briefly mention of doing cardio (if you wanted) on rest days.

Replies

• dougpconnell219
    dougpconnell219 Posts: 566 Member
    The only day I skip the cardio is leg day, as they are jelly after that.
  • Cherimoose
    Cherimoose Posts: 5,208 Member
    bioklutz wrote: »
    The book did briefly mention of doing cardio (if you wanted) on rest days.

I agree.

Light exercise actually helps improve soreness.