Spaghetti Squash

Options
kristen6350
kristen6350 Posts: 1,094 Member
Ok. So I'm not new here but I'm new to Spaghetti Squash. I don't expect it to taste like noodles, but I'm very curious about it.

How do I cook it - do you cut it in half and roast it, then dig out the middle? Can you crockpot cook the thing while I'm at work?

Then do you just use typical spaghetti sauce on it or do you have a particular recipe you use. I typically like spicier/savory than sweeter food.

My boyfriend has already told me, when looking what I brought home, he won't eat it. Fine. I'll make something that looks tasty and he'll have regular noodles. I'm good with that.

Thanks ahead of time fellow MFP'ers.

Replies

• dklibert
    dklibert Posts: 1,196 Member
    Options
    When I am in a hurry I cut it in half and microwave. I suggest under cooking it, if you over cook it you will get mush not squash threads. You can roast it, grill it and I have seen people crockpot it too. I have only microwaved and grilled it. Pinterest is overrun with spaghetti squash ideas.

Microwave: Cut squash in half. Scoop out seeds and discard. Place cut side down in a microwave safe dish, add 1/4 cup of water and cover with plastic wrap. Microwave for 8 minutes. Let cool 5 minutes (You may have to do each half separately, I do). When squash is cool enough to handle, pull the squash into spaghetti like threads.

Grill:livestrong.com/article/473750-grilled-spaghetti-squash/#page=1

Here are some of the things I have tried:
    foodyschmoodyblog.com/stuffed-spaghetti-squash/#1sfiz3np.13615.pi
    soupspiceeverythingnice.blogspot.com/search/label/Spaghetti%20Squash
  • kristen6350
    kristen6350 Posts: 1,094 Member
    Options
    Thanks, dklibert. The top recipe looks wonderful. I know Pinterest is exploding with recipes, but I never know what one is actually good. Been burned before.
  • tjsoccermom
    tjsoccermom Posts: 500 Member
    Options