Building my endurance- need tips

Options
Hey there! I'm totally new to the myfitnesspal community so bare with me. xD So I want to build my endurance to do longer workouts, but I find it difficult to do more than 15-20 mins. at a time, and all I do is cardio for right now since I'm just really about two weeks into this. I really want to do more but I want to do it the right way so any tips on building endurance for any and all cardio exercise would be so appreciated!

Replies

• jacksonpt
    jacksonpt Posts: 10,413 Member
    Options
    Go slower. Seriously. Dial back your speed/intensity a bit and you should be able to sustain it longer. Going slower for longer will lead to faster and longer.
  • kassandrainc
    kassandrainc Posts: 3 Member
    Options
    I'd suggest intervals. Alternate every two minutes of, for example, walking on the tread on a 50% incline st 2.6 mph and walking at a 70% incline at 3.4 mph. Or spend 8 to 10 minutes in one cardio machi,e then to the next and the next...make sure you've fueled your body properly too!
  • rybo
    rybo Posts: 5,424 Member
    Options
    jacksonpt wrote: »
    Go slower. Seriously. Dial back your speed/intensity a bit and you should be able to sustain it longer. Going slower for longer will lead to faster and longer.

This
  • Elise4270
    Elise4270 Posts: 8,375 Member
    Options
    And don't forget to feed your body. I found an amino acid supplements, like monster amino really helped with the recovery.
  • lorenbomb
    lorenbomb Posts: 8 Member
    Options
    Thanks x I appreciate these great tips :) going to put them to mind and work
  • lorenbomb
    Options
    Elise4270 wrote: »
    And don't forget to feed your body. I found an amino acid supplements, like monster amino really helped with the recovery.
    I've just used water so far. I'll look into this though :) thank you x
  • jacksonpt
    Options