Struggling to gain mass

Options
Hey guys,
I've been trying to gain mass for some time now. Im doing that whole low reps heavy weight approach. But with that all I've really noticed are more strength gains than anything else. My diet consist of mainly pastas, chicken, and rice. But I'm in the Marines, so 8 hours of sleep isn't very normal. Any advice?
Thanks, I'm new to this.

Replies

• rynohaymaker
    Options
    How low on reps? You're gonna want to mix in some hypertrophic weight lifting also. If you aren't getting enough rest I'd stick to a 3 day split. Give your nervouse system more rest. Example mon: chest, tri. Wed: back , bi. Fri: shoulders legs. You may be over training relative to your resting ability.
  • anorciia
    anorciia Posts: 4 Member
    Options
    Make sure you are getting at least 1 G protein per pound of bodyweight

After your top end work set for your main lift for the day (squat, deadlift, bench, overhead press) add a back off set. Use 90% of the weight from your top end set and match the reps you completed in the top end set

For example, you work up to a top end set of overhead press of 100 lb for 6 reps. Rest 90 sec or so

Press 90 lb for 6 reps then move on to accessory work

You need to eat an excess of calories to grow. Try 16 calories per pound of body weight. If you weigh 200 lb, then eat 3200 kcal per day

Give those a try for 3 weeks and then evaluate
  • xcalygrl
    xcalygrl Posts: 1,897 Member
    Options
    To gain mass, you need to be in a caloric surplus. You also need to lift heavy (so low reps of 5-8 weight heavy weights is good). You can also look at a hypertrophy program, like Layne Norton's program (http://www.simplyshredded.com/mega-feature-layne-norton-training-series-full-powerhypertrophy-routine-updated-2011.html).

This is also a good read: http://www.muscleandstrength.com/articles/truth-rep-ranges-muscle-growth
  • Mervynd123
    Options