A Mathematical Oddity

Options
I was just wondering if anyone has ever had this happen to them on MFP before. Today was a first for me.

I've been using MFP for 5 months now. It's been great. It's helped me lose about 35 pounds (now how do I stop is the problem -- I'm having to ramp up drastically).

But I entered all of today's food in my diary. After entering it, I was 4 grams over my daily target on carbs, 4 grams over on proteins, and 4 grams over on fat. And 10 calories below my target. Over by 4 grams each on carbs, protein and fat and under on the daily calorie target?

Anyone else ever have that happen? I know that means individual components are messed up, but I've never had it happen on a daily total before.

Replies

• endoftheside
    endoftheside Posts: 568 Member
    Options
    It happens to me in a noticeable way every couple of weeks or so, and I am sure more often but a small enough error that I don't notice. Most recently it was yesterday, where based on the green for the macros it seemed like I should have had more calories left, but what had happened was that the entry for movie popcorn I originally selected had a reasonable looking number amount of calories but was entered into MFP with 0 as the carb grams. When you enter food stats, it doesn't check that the fat+carb+protein grams match the total calories when converted from g to calories, so it can be wrong in either direction. There were some artichoke hearts I ate where it was entered with the calories entered as the GRAMS of fat--imagine the havoc that caused in my macros. :noway:

In addition to the entry errors, sometimes people who are only tracking calories or only tracking carbs will deliberately enter things with only their desired tracking variables included, and they accidentally end up in the general database.
  • DragonSquatter
    DragonSquatter Posts: 957 Member
    Options