Snack help

Options
Hi, I'm Angela. Although I'm not new to My Fitness Pal, I am new to the message boards. I have just completed 2 weeks of my weight loss journey, yet once again. Sigh. I've been logging my food daily but am having a hard time staying uder my alotted sugar amount. I live in the Arctic where fresh fruits and veggies are not also assessible. Can someone give me some healthy snack ideas? I thought I was choosing the right snacks (ie. Greek yogurt, oranges, carrots, etc) until I logges them and seen the amount of sugar! Help!

Replies

• Need2Exerc1se
    Need2Exerc1se Posts: 13,575 Member
    Options
    If you don't have insulin resistance or diabetes or another condition that requires you limit all sugar, then you are likely fine. I think MFP has the medical recommendation for added sugar as their recommendation for all sugar.

But nuts, cheese, jerky, vegetable sticks, hummus, peanut butter, edamame, boiled or deviled eggs are some lower sugar snacks you could try.
  • lavaughan69
    lavaughan69 Posts: 459 Member
    Options
    I gave up worrying about the breakdown of salt, sugar and focus just on calories. It just gets too overwhelming to do everything right! I eat Greek yogurt everyday and carrots. I also by the bags of sugar snap peas, love them! My night time go to snack is popcorn and sometimes I go for a 1/2 cup of frozen yogurt...or if I've left calories on the table I'll eat a whole cup! :D

Good luck and STAY WARM
  • cebreisch
    cebreisch Posts: 1,340 Member
    Options
    One of the snacks I'm very fond of are: Chocolite protein bars from www.healthsmartfoods.com

They have:
    • about 100 calories
    • about 10g protein
    • about 10g fiber
    • gluten free
    • (drum roll) SUGAR FREE

I remember when my dietician told me to increase my fiber amounts. The next month I went in there, I had lost 12 pounds. She said my fiber numbers dramatically increased, and my sugar numbers plummeted.