Starving at 1500 kcal

Options
I'm trying to lose a few and have my goal set to 1500 calories a day, which is supposed to be a good target.
I'm looking to lose about 12-17 lbs. I am not technically overweight, but chubbier than I used to be. I put my lifestyle to 'inactive' as I am looking for work and am not running around much these days.
My TDEE was calculated to 1900 a day.

I am not addicted to sugar and never eat candy nor junk food, so that's good. According to advice given on here, you should not eliminate things you like to eat entirely, so I work in some small portions of pasta, cheese, red wine and bread. I try to go wholewheat on the carbs also when I do eat them.

Thing is, I am hungry after 1500 calories. Even if I eat mostly things that fill me up - eggs, chicken, salmon, pork.
I know that I need to make sacrifices to lose weight but going to bed hungry can't be good. I'm also afraid I'll explode one night and order two pizzas (which has happened in the past).

Is it possible I'm underestimating my TDEE? I do walk a bit throughout the day and do a lot of housework, maybe I burn slightly over 1900? Or is the only way to suffer through the hunger?
I'm 5"9 and 24 years old.

Replies

• shadowofender
    shadowofender Posts: 786 Member
    Options
    That's a fairly large deficit, and since you have so little to lose, why not consider making your deficit smaller? I had to decrease my deficit because I was so hungry and honeslty adding 150 calories a day, while it sounds like a small amount, has made a large difference.
  • HeySwoleSister
    HeySwoleSister Posts: 1,938 Member
    Options
    Henny2206 wrote: »
    I'm trying to lose a few and have my goal set to 1500 calories a day, which is supposed to be a good target.
    I'm looking to lose about 12-17 lbs. I am not technically overweight, but chubbier than I used to be. I put my lifestyle to 'inactive' as I am looking for work and am not running around much these days.