Becoming overweight your metabolism is permanently ruined?

Options
I saw on a documentary, that, once someone is overweight, then they lose the weight, that they can never eat like a normal person does again because they have permanently ruined their metabolism. Such as a normal person can cope with 2000 calories a day, but, a person that was previously overweight and is down to a healthy weight, only needs 1800? (For women).

Is this true? Because that would be really ****ty If for the rest of my life I have to extremely watch what I eat...but I guess that's the price you pay for being overweight to begin with.

Replies

• 12333beth
    12333beth Posts: 31
    Options
    i dont think it would be as severe as you seem to think, our bodies are so smart, and adaptable. I also watched a documentary (and im no scientist or nutritionist so dont quote me) where they did an experiment on about 20 people, increasing their intake by 3000 or so a day and watching the results over time One man only gained a few lbs over a long period of time, as his body had adapted and started excreting energy in other ways like sweating, and respiration. A few others gained weight, but the moment they got back to their normal intake, their body adapted and went back to its 'normal' state (all of us have a comfortable medium somewhere)
  • AbsoluteNG
    AbsoluteNG Posts: 1,079 Member
    Options
    Yes it's true. It takes about 3 months for your metabolism to come close to a normal person's metabolism and then the difference isn't so much.
  • AbsoluteNG
    Options
    It comes from set point theory. Lyle Mcdonald's take is on it below based off of what he found from his research.

http://www.bodyrecomposition.com/fat-loss/set-points-settling-points-and-bodyweight-regulation-part-1.html
  • _Zardoz_
    _Zardoz_ Posts: 3,987 Member
    Options
    It comes from set point theory.