Polar watch or Fitbit?

Options
I work out about 2-3 times a week and want to accurately measure my calories I'm burning. I also need a watch that I can use for work since I'm a nurse it's really important (preferably with seconds as well). Anyone have any recommendations on what to get?

Replies

• chamahbau
    chamahbau Posts: 8 Member
    Options
    I have a Polar FT7 that I'm using right now. I only use it when I work out because there's a heart rate monitor that you have to strap to your chest to get calories burned. It's also water proof. I'm looking at getting the Fitbit flex to do all day tracking. This one won't tell you the time but is waterproof, will tell how many calories burned, steps taken, sleep cycle and other things. Does not require a chest strap to count calories.
  • scaryg53
    scaryg53 Posts: 268 Member
    Options
    I'm looking at few different brands right now, I was leaning towards jawbone but now I'm leaning towards Microsoft
  • Bookaholic88
    Bookaholic88 Posts: 106 Member
    Options
    I love my polar ft7 for tracking my calorie burns. I understand that the chest strap gives a more accurate report of calories burned than other products that you just wear on teh wrist.
  • sfbaumgarten
    sfbaumgarten Posts: 912 Member
    Options
    My Fitbit displays the time.
  • SKME2013
    SKME2013 Posts: 704 Member
    Options
    Polar M400 is a multisportswatch and activity tracker. It got superb reviews. Check out DCrainmaker for his reviews. For workouts I do not consider anything without a heart rate strap accurate enough.
    Stef.
  • PurpleYFronts
    PurpleYFronts Posts: 344 Member
    Options
    I would go for the Fitbit if youre looking calories, steps etc and can add the HR monitor if you like. Also, you plan on doing outdoor running you can go for something like the Surge https://www.fitbit.com/uk/surge
    I use a Timex Run Trainer 2.0 and a Fitbit, though it would be nice to have everything in one.
  • navyjen