Any girls here into powerlifting/Weightlifting?

Options

Replies

• SonyaCele
    SonyaCele Posts: 2,841 Member
    edited February 2015
    Options
    I power lift, and compete. I've only been doing it a few years but i absolutely love it. I am training Westside Conjugate method.

I'd love to have more power lifters as friends, so anyone that lifts feel free to add me.
  • arditarose
    arditarose Posts: 15,575 Member
    Options
    I've been doing Stronglifts for about 4 months now. Just signed up for a meet in May. No coach, just a husband with a bit more faith in me than I have sometimes. :-)

Feel free to add me as a friend!

What would you suggest to someone who is interested in competing but doesn't have a coach...or much help at all?
  • dbmata
    dbmata Posts: 12,951 Member
    Options
    just compete. You don't need a coach.
  • arditarose
    Options
    dbmata wrote: »
    just compete. You don't need a coach.

I do need someone to take a look at what I'm doing once in awhile. And I guess I feel like I need someone to tell me what to do. Maybe that's not the case.
  • dbmata
    Options
    You may need it mentally, but you don't need it to compete. you know you.

Most of the folks at my competition who weren't crossfitters were going it alone without a coach.
  • arditarose
    Options
    You may need it mentally, but you don't need it to compete. you know you.

Most of the folks at my competition who weren't crossfitters were going it alone without a coach.

Oh yeah. I know that. I just feel like I need some help getting into it that's all. On like...a lot of levels.
  • navyjen
    navyjen Posts: 1,043 Member
    Options
    I want to be but.... I need someone to teach me and I just don't want to go up to some big dude and the gym and be like hey will you help me out?? So, as I get more adventurous at the gym I am trying new things.
  • arditarose
    Options
    navyjen wrote: »