Is there other 40+ struggling too?

Options
Hi, I'm new to MFP and have a hard time with meal and motivation to exercise... Any others like me?

Replies

• pwatol
    pwatol Posts: 326 Member
    Options
    I have a horrible time trying to find the time to exercise. But the number of relatives I've got who've had diabetes, heart disease, and other problems from being overweight was enough to keep me on track with meals when I got started. Once the weight started to come off, it turned into its own reward. Because eating myself into an early grave is a lot less fun and exciting than seeing a reading that's a pound less on the scale. ;)
  • karenjkaluzny
    Options
    That's awesome!! I have a family member that has diabetes as well... I just have a hard time pushing myself to get there and once I am going it's good.... Just need to push to go. Especially now that I'm trying to exercise (haven't done that for awhile) it's hard and it hurts lol
  • SergeantSausage
    SergeantSausage Posts: 1,673 Member
    Options
    45+ here.

Sorry. No struggle, but us geezers are around.
  • ketorach
    ketorach Posts: 430 Member
    Options
    40+ female here. I've never had an easier time losing weight. I promise you it can be done. Caloric deficit = weight loss. I find it easiest *for me* by limiting carbs, but your mileage may vary. There are lots of ways to get done.
  • karenjkaluzny
    Options
    Thanks! I've noticed the carbs are the biggest problem.
  • pwatol
    pwatol Posts: 326 Member
    Options
    I also worked really hard at the beginning picking foods that would let me eat more mass so I wouldn't feel like I was doing without. Lots and lots of veggies. Some raw, but a can of beets or spinach heated up with just a little salt was a lifesaver more than once. Now, I just don't crave the larger portions that much anymore.
  • atypicalsmith
    atypicalsmith Posts: 2,742 Member
    Options