Large belly area

Options
So I am new to all of this...on January 12th I decided it was time to change my life! I have been eating well and trying to work out about 3 times a week (until the weather gets better)! I am down almost 14 pounds in a month! I need some advice though because I have a very short torso area and my belly appears to be very large. I need advice on how to get rid of it! My favorite work out is getting on the treadmill and chugging away, or even hopping on the stationary bike. If you have any advice, tips, or methods please feel free to help me out!

Replies

• Phoenix_Down
    Phoenix_Down Posts: 530 Member
    Options
    Sadly, there's no spot reduction. As you lose weight, fat is predisposed by genetics on where it comes off from. So, isolation exercises may work the area underneath but won't rid it of fat.

I totally feel you though, when I started, fat loss came off everywhere BUT my stomach, which gave the optical illusion that my stomach was bigger by comparison.

Best thing you can do is get a good amount of protein and continue to lose weight, remember weight loss slows as you get closer to goal and you want it to do so when you're about 50 or so from goal, with less to lose, there's more likely to jeopardize muscle along with fat and muscle will help leave you leaner at goal.

Just keep it up and you'll see the fruits of your effort. =)
  • malibu927
    malibu927 Posts: 17,565 Member
    Options
    Eat less, move more, and read @usmcmp‌ 's thread "So you want a nice stomach" pinned at the top of this section.
  • arditarose
    arditarose Posts: 15,574 Member
    Options
    malibu927 wrote: »
    Eat less, move more, and read @usmcmp‌ 's thread "So you want a nice stomach" pinned at the top of this section.

yep yep
  • SergeantSausage
    SergeantSausage Posts: 1,673 Member
    Options
    Lose fat ==> Lose belly.

Short of surgery / liposuction, there's really no other effective way.