I'm just starting out...again. Only Cardio?

Options
Hey guys,

I have 100+ pounds to lose. Currently at my heaviest weight of 277 :'( I have been overweight my entire life. I have dieted several times and have always failed. I have always hated cardio but recently I have grown to really like the elliptical and cross-trainer machines at the gym.

My question for you guys is...

Do you think I can lose body fat by only doing cardio 5x (30 mins) a week? (Tuesday-Saturday (off sunday/monday)

Has anyone started their journey with only doing cardio? Has fast did the fat come off? (I'm not in a huge hurry to lose weight, just want it off and to stay off...no matter how long it takes :) )

Also according to MFP I should be consuming 1820 calories. Should I eat back my calories earned from exercise?
(deficit of 1000 calories a day,-2lb per week)

Thanks!!

*good vibes only please, I'm new to this (but I do lots of studying ;) )

Replies

• DopeItUp
    DopeItUp Posts: 18,771 Member
    Options
    You can lose fat with zero exercise at all. Some cardio will help burn some calories, sure. I started by only doing cardio too, but I quit in about 6 months once I realized that it was largely useless for my goals. I picked up the weights and never looked back. Your mileage may vary.
  • MrsGreco
    MrsGreco Posts: 134 Member
    Options
    DopeItUp wrote: »
    You can lose fat with zero exercise at all. Some cardio will help burn some calories, sure. I started by only doing cardio too, but I quit in about 6 months once I realized that it was largely useless for my goals. I picked up the weights and never looked back. Your mileage may vary.

Thank you! If you don't mind me asking... What where your goals?
  • joepratt503
    joepratt503 Posts: 191 Member
    Options