Leg Pain

Options
So I have been running and doing squats everyday for two weeks. And now my legs are cramping and I have shin splints all of the time. I purchased running shoes from a running store so it should not be that. I do yoga in the afternoon to stretch out my muscles in my legs before going to bed. So the question I have is should I just power through these pains (not really terrible just annoying) or should I allow my body to rest. I am a researcher/teacher at a university so I am constantly running up and down stairs to visit labs and classrooms. Anyone out there do a lot of running or have a similar issue?

Cheers

Replies

• Lofteren
    Lofteren Posts: 960 Member
    Options
    You cannot continuously train one body part every day without injuring yourself. You adapt by imposing a stimulus and then recovering from that stimulus. Without recovery, there is no adaptation. You should workout a more balanced approach to training (i.e. one that incorporates a day off here and there and some upper body training as well)
  • khloesdad0124
    khloesdad0124 Posts: 62 Member
    Options
    Also you could have a potassium deficiency causing the cramping.
  • sweetpea03b
    sweetpea03b Posts: 1,124 Member
    Options
    Too much running. I only run 3-4x/week and ALWAYS have a complete rest day. Your muscles need time to repair and recover and you're not giving that to them. If you continue this way you will end up with an injury.
  • HappyLifting89
    Options
    I second not training legs every day. You need time to rest the muscles. ALSO eat some bananas, they help in recovery, oddly so does chocolate milk, but real milk not that stuff you mix in. ALSO the shoes you bought may be the wrong shoes for you. I find that nike's are the only thing I can train in, I have tried the reebok training shoes as well as asics and they just don't do it for me.