Losing 100lbs — Any Suggestions?

Options
Hi folks!

I'm quite overweight—I started at 345lbs and I'm 6'2. I want to lose 100lbs. That's such a daunting goal, but I'm making progress.

I've started eating at a deficit of ~1000kcal, I've started up a workout routine, and I've lost ~10lbs in the last month.

I want to keep this up—so, I want to ask those of you who've lost a lot of weight: what are the (two or three) most important pieces of advice you could give someone like me?

Replies

• beard83flt
    beard83flt Posts: 12 Member
    Options
    I am just getting started myself. I started out over 360 and 5'9". I started end of last year, and I am down to about

First off it is hard. I am working out on an elliptical every day and tracking everything that I eat. That does not mean that I don't eat food that I like. Instead of eating pizza and burgers every other day, I have 1 day a week that I can eat most anything. I don't over eat when I eat out "KEEP PORTION CONTROL". If I think that I over ate I will add a workout the next day to cover it.

I use a small plate instead of a full size plate when I get my food. This is basicaly tricking yourself with what you put on it, and do not go back for seconds.

I do take vitamins, protein, fish oil, and ammino acids for when I weight train.
    Good luck man.
  • atypicalsmith
    atypicalsmith Posts: 2,742 Member
    edited March 2015
    Options
    Don't try to lose too fast. 1,000 calories under is crazy! If you keep this up, you will likely get very discouraged and depressed. Losing a pound or two a week isn't hard as long as you eat right. I've been averaging half a pound a week, which is fine with me. Much better than continually gaining a pound or so a month!
  • TimothyFish
    TimothyFish Posts: 4,925 Member
    Options