Your 'Good' Intentions

Options
I've been logging my food on MFP for about 4 months, but this is the first time I have posted anything to the forum. I'm fortunate to have found a rhythm that is working for me and I haven't needed much in the way of support from other MFP users. But I do see the popular threads on the home page and from time to time I'm drawn in by an intriguing title. Unfortunately it seems that in any posting, no matter how innocuous it starts out, there are individuals who feel the need to steer the conversation towards judging others, which is helpful to absolutely no one.

If you feel a need to attack, judge, or correct someone else's fitness plan, you are most likely projecting some unowned part of yourself onto that person. As an example, if you feel a need to criticize someone for taking a 'cheat day', you should check in with yourself and see what it is that you're longing for that is making you lash out. My guess is you really want a day off yourself, but you're so rigidly attached to your diet that you won't take one. How does this end? 99% of the time in an abandoned fitness plan because you were too busy observing everyone else too observe what was going on with you.

Maybe had you noticed, "wow, these posts are really bugging me. What's going on with me that would make me feel this way about something that doesn't affect me at all?", you could have identified what need it is that isn't being fulfilled and take action on it. Having your needs met then gives you the strength you need to move forward.