Lifting - where to begin

Options
Belle8312
Belle8312 Posts: 2,151 Member
I apologize if this question has been asked, I didn't see it, or I missed it.

So I want to start lifting....where do I begin? I have quite a bit of weight to lose and am definitely hitting cardio pretty hard, but want to start weight training. I am totally lost as to where to start and what to do.

Thanks in advance! :smiley:

Replies

• bryjess95
    bryjess95 Posts: 3 Member
    Options
    I'm just a beginner myself but everything I've read, and the advice that's been given to me, indicates that when starting you should focus on proper form and technique. Use low weights and high reps as you become familiar with the machines. This is one area where I think it's smart to seek out the advice of a trainer or experienced lifter to help you in the gym. You don't want to risk an injury that will cause a setback.
  • wcarbyde
    wcarbyde Posts: 2 Member
    Options
    I personally think trainers are a complete waste of money. (I am sure others will disagree, most likely trainers) There is so much info available to be able to educate yourself. Have a question about a machine? Look it up on youtube. You should start by circuit training. Focus on a single exercise for each body part and do 2-3 sets for each one. Start with 12-15 reps per set and definitely use a weight you won't struggle with very much. Pay attention when in the gym to how other people are using a piece of equipment you aren't familiar with. Don't ever be afraid to ask someone a question in the gym. I have never seen a gym member in my 36 years of attending different places that wasn't willing to hep someone out with information.
  • terizius
    terizius Posts: 425 Member
    Options