new to gyming! need tips??

Options
Hiya,

I'm new to this and the whole gym/diet thing. Been to the gym 5-6 days a week and been eating clean (ie. lots of veg and water). But when I weight myself every week for the past few weeks, it's only been less than 1kg each week. Am I doing things wrong? I was expecting at least 1kg each week since I worked so hard :(

I would appreciate any tips on diet or gym techniques!!

Jen x

Replies

• galgenstrick
    galgenstrick Posts: 2,086 Member
    Options
    1kg each week is fantastic. You don't want to lose more than that or you'll just lose your muscle along with your fat. Depending on how much you have to lose you should be loosing at a rate of 0.25kg-1kg per week.
  • AllanMisner
    AllanMisner Posts: 4,140 Member
    Options
    1/2 a kg per week is great, so it sounds like you're doing pretty good. However, I'd focus less on the scale and more on how you look and feel. Are your clothes fitting better? Are you tightening up in some places? Does your face look healthier? Do you have more energy?

Those are infinitely more important than a number on the scale.

As for the gym thing, LIFT HEAVY.
  • Countryboy_83
    Countryboy_83 Posts: 946 Member
    Options
    That's good progress. A lot if things can happen like water retention in muscles for hard workouts. But you have a solid loss so don't stress. Stay with the olan give yourself time
  • TavistockToad
    TavistockToad Posts: 35,719 Member
    Options
    Hiya,

I'm new to this and the whole gym/diet thing. Been to the gym 5-6 days a week and been eating clean (ie. lots of veg and water). But when I weight myself every week for the past few weeks, it's only been less than 1kg each week. Am I doing things wrong? I was expecting at least 1kg each week since I worked so hard :(

I would appreciate any tips on diet or gym techniques!!

Jen x

You don't look to have much to lose, so 1kg a week is plenty.
  • Dave55412
    Dave55412 Posts: 88 Member
    Options