confused about calories vs exercise

Options
Hi all, I'm fairly new to this (and loving it by the way!) But I'm a bit confused about the calories MFP has allocated and how they tie in with exercise. So MFP seems to reset to 1200 so I guess that's the recommended target for me and my goal. But what are you supposed to do with the exercise calories? Ignore? Just eat a bit more if you're hungry? I've noticed that on the days where I don't do exercise per se my 'projected weight in 5 weeks' seems to be pretty high suggesting a very small loss per week (I think less than 0.5kilo) which seems to suggest to me that severely cutting my intake of calories doesn't do much really. On the flip side when I've exercised it's much lower, which makes sense of course. But it seems to me that using a lot of calories exercising and cutting food could potentially leave me in the negative. I should say that now I've got into the swing of it I'm not generally very hungry, and if I was I'd ease off. Just trying to understand the balance as I was active and ate healthily before I started this - but am still overweight so obviously consuming more than burning. Anyway, any advice welcomed : )

Replies

• DeguelloTex
    DeguelloTex Posts: 6,652 Member
    Options
    A lot of people eat back 25-75% of exercise calories in order to net MFP's calorie goal. If the calorie burns were absolutely accurate, eating back 100% would be fairly reasonable.

Basically, if your (realistic) goal is to lose X pounds per week, you'd want to eat back enough exercise calories so that you lose (over time) X pounds per week. If you lose more quickly, eat back more exercise calories. If more slowly, less. (All this presumes logging is accurate, or at least wrong in a consistent way.)
  • ghealai
    ghealai Posts: 9 Member
    Options