How to go from running/jogging to sprinting/faster running?

Options
Hello all,

I’m not a veteran runner like other people here: I’ve been running on and off for quite a few years now, ranging from 5k daily to 5k a few times a week or 10-12k on the weekends. I’ve been having some problems with my knee recently and my massotherapist, who’s had a good close look at my muscle development, recommends I switch to sprints or running faster rather than endurance runs (if you can call 5k that, but anyway) in order to better engage my muscles. I actually did notice my knee pain stops when I sprint, so it might be my gait or running form. My current running speed is pretty relaxed at around 6.7 mph. I already do a strength training program (Starting Strength) but would like to continue some form of running because it relaxes me.

TL;DR: Anyone here do sprints or faster running? It was always my understanding that to run faster, you need to run longer. Sprinting for X seconds and then running for Y seconds seems a strange concept to me. Mostly because it sounds hard :tongue: . I’d appreciate any thoughts or resources you can share.

Replies

• rybo
    rybo Posts: 5,424 Member
    Options
    If i do sprints they are only 50-75 yards, then walk back, recover and repeat 5-10x.
  • Emilia777
    Emilia777 Posts: 978 Member
    Options
    rybo wrote: »
    If i do sprints they are only 50-75 yards, then walk back, recover and repeat 5-10x.

Ok, makes sense. About how long does this take, if you know? I don’t really know how to structure a sprinting workout…
  • yusaku02
    yusaku02 Posts: 3,476 Member
    Options
    If you can use a track then you could do something like: Sprint 400m (1 lap) as fast as you can, take a few minutes rest, sprint it again, rest, sprint, rest, sprint. That would only be a mile total.
    Then maybe sprinkle in shorter sprints after like a 100m.