Working out is hard...

Options
Hey all, I'm trying to get back into working out. I bought myself an elliptical since I don't feel very comfortable in a gym. My resting heart rate is also really high so I feel like I need to work on that. For a few days in a row now I've been doing some things to tone certain areas and then I get on my elliptical. It's an air elliptical so it takes a bit more work than the nice ones at the gym... I currently can't go for more than a minute and a half without stopping because my legs are burning and I can barely breathe... I'm super discouraged.
I don't know if I should just keep resting and get back to it and try to work out for a total of 30 min on it or what. I'm new to this and I just want to get in shape. Any recommendations or advice?
Much appreciated.

Replies

• sahead710
    sahead710 Posts: 74 Member
    Options
    Keep at it, if you can't do it for longer than a minute and a half do it for that long, rest and see if you can do it again, if not, try again tomorrow. Every one starts somewhere, push yourself but also remember that you're new to this and your body is not used to it so it's okay if you can't do much at first, as long as you're giving it your best effort. Walking was the best thing for me when I first started, walking is easy but if you set a brisk pace you can still work up a sweat and burn calories.
  • misssmadalyn
    misssmadalyn Posts: 360 Member
    Options
    Do what you can each day.. You will progress with time.
  • cj94404
    cj94404 Posts: 154 Member
    Options