Hello everyone! (Help!)

Options
BritBoogaloo
BritBoogaloo Posts: 67 Member
edited May 2015 in Introduce Yourself
I've been using MFP for a week and a half and I just wanted to say hi and introduce myself.

I'm a 31 year old female, 176 cm tall (5'9) and in eight years I've had some whopping weight gain. In 2007 I weighed 68 kg (150 pounds). I know I've been gaining lots of weight but I work in a tough job and kept on making excuses as to why I couldn't exercise or eat well until it became a deeply ingrained habit.

I've been avoiding the scales for the last 2 years and finally had the courage to buy scales and stand on them on the weekend. I now weigh 96.1 kg (212 pounds). It was a shocking revelation and I'm really disappointed in myself for letting myself gain this much. But I know I really now need to do something about this and turn my life around.

I've joined the gym and am going to be doing weekly weigh-ins for myself. I've never done weights before but I'm going to be doing Body Pump classes 3 times a week to learn how to lift weights properly. I'm also going to start jogging again 3 days a week and am in my second week of the couch to 5K now, which I'm doing outside using an app on my phone.

I am religiously tracking and logging everything I eat, including condiments, salt, pepper and gum even though it makes no calorie difference. I bought a set of kitchen scales and I have been weighing everything and logging correct weights before eating anything. Prepping my meals in advance for the last 12 days really helps me see how much money I have been wasting buying lunches and takeout as well!

I know I have a long way to go in losing all this weight and I expect this is going to take me well into next year. I'm setting myself a realistic weight loss goal of 0.5 kg (1 pound) a week, rather than attempt to rush it.