Strong Lifts / 5x5 / Lifting for women...

I just started doing the 5x5 program about 2 months ago. My only experience in the gym previously, a long time ago, was just cardio, so I am completely new to weight lifting with real weights, lol!

I am really looking for other women who lift to lose fat and get in shape. I workout with my fiance but he really only know's the guys thought process of it, trying to get bigger. Obviously I don't want to get bigger, lol!

I would love some friends that are experienced with lifting to share ideas and thoughts with. :)

Replies

• DirrtyH
    DirrtyH Posts: 664 Member
    Check out this group: http://community.myfitnesspal.com/en/group/4601-stronglifts-5x5-for-women

You can add me as well. I'm doing Stronglifts.
  • SueInAz
    SueInAz Posts: 6,592 Member
    edited May 2015
    You aren't really going to get bigger, especially if you're eating at a deficit. You will, however, get stronger and maintain more muscle mass as you lose weight. I've been lifting for about a year now also with a male partner. I have muscle definition but haven't really gotten any bigger and I'm something of a female freak of nature when it comes to adding muscle. :smile:
  • branflakes1980
    branflakes1980 Posts: 2,516 Member
    edited May 2015
    You don't lift to lose fat, you create a calorie deficit to lose fat. You lift to get stronger, and be bad *kitten* in general (amongst other things). It is really REALLY hard for women to gain muscle mass in general (lack of testostorone) let alone while eating at a deficit. You are not going to get bigger. Lift with your fiance you aren't going to turn into a man. women shouldn't lift any differently than a man does In my opinion. Good luck to you.
  • HamsterManV2
    HamsterManV2 Posts: 449 Member
    http://www.reddit.com/r/xxfitness/wiki/user_progress