calories

Options
I am new to the whole counting calories thing. Ok so if i get on the treadmill and burn 433 calories why does the calories for today increase im trying to lose weight not gain. It was 15 something now that i burn some it increased my intake to like 2000 something help please

Replies

• galgenstrick
    galgenstrick Posts: 2,086 Member
    Options
    The goal you set in MFP (lose 1 pound a week or whatever) does not include exercise in it. So you would theoretically reach that goal by eating your calories and just going about your day. If you start doing cardio, then you would lose weight more than that goal (theoretically) and would need to eat more calories to get back on track with your goal.
  • seiffertrk
    seiffertrk Posts: 49 Member
    Options
    In my case goal calories were figured accounting for the exercise that is part of my plan. Originally I was just doing the math to take out what MFP put in again. They've now added the option to not add exercise calories back in, but it is only available in the premium (pay for) version.
  • Emilia777
    Emilia777 Posts: 978 Member
    edited May 2015
    Options
    Be aware, however, that the estimate of calories burned is usually overestimated, and most people only eat back 50-75%.
  • MsJulesRenee
    MsJulesRenee Posts: 1,180 Member
    Options
    You may eat back some of the calories burned to fuel your body (calories are usually higher on the app/exercise machine than you actually burned). Most people eat back 50%. It is up to you if you want to eat them or not - go with how your body feels. MFP is set up to eat your calories back. You will lose either way.
  • cortney876
    cortney876 Posts: 35 Member
    Options
    This system that yal have going may actually work for me the support is so unreal. I mean the real time response. We have have a set calories for each day will that put a hold on a weight loss if u dont eat all of those calories
  • SnuggleSmacks