how fast can vo2max increase after you start running again...

Options
Seigla
Seigla Posts: 172 Member
10 days ago I did my first triathlon, ran 5 kilometers with an average speed of 13 km/h average. I did not train running for 8 months due to an injury - which btw was not due to overtraining, but I had flat feet... now I have insoles, took some time to rest after that and unfortunately didn't have time to train for the triathlon, so just did it untrained.

I am happy with that time and it was nice to discover that my legs could handle the running again, so I started training. I run about 15 kilometers per week (3 * 5) and so far I feel no pain.

Now I wonder... what can I expect to happen to my speed? In 4 weeks I have my next triathlon, also with a 5k, can I expect to do it faster? How fast does vo2max increase if you start running again? I guess it dropped considerably in the meantime... my vo2 max was 60 ml/kg/min just a few weeks after that injury.

Just wondering. Curious about your experiences! Thanks! :)

Replies

• Seigla
    Options
  • Seigla
    Options
    "If getting back in shape after taking time off, whether for injury or a mental break, seems like it takes far longer than getting out of shape, that’s not just your perception.

“It takes at least twice as long, if not longer, to gain fitness as to lose fitness,” said Karp. “It takes much, much longer to build a house than to knock it down.”

Many of your systems have to be built back up from the cellular level, synthesizing protein and increasing the number of mitochondria. The half-line of decline in mitochondrial enzyme is 12 days, which means 12 days of detraining requires 36 days of re-training to return to the same levels, according to Coyle.

Read more at http://running.competitor.com/2014/03/training/how-long-does-it-take-to-get-out-of-shape_70267#sY068EJdCm4JSyLV.99"
  • Seigla
    Options