Does it ever not seem real?

Options
Jasmunr
Jasmunr Posts: 147 Member
edited May 2015 in Health and Weight Loss
I've been trying to lose weight unsuccessfully for 3 years. This is my 3rd go at myfitnesspal and for some reason it just stuck this time. I've gone from 133/134 to 125 in about a month and a half. It just doesn't seem real. It just seems too easy like someone is going to pop out and say "surprise, just kidding!" Did anyone else feel like that in the beginning?

Replies

• Ninkyou
    Ninkyou Posts: 6,666 Member
    Options
    In the beginning yes.

What do you mean I don't have to be miserable to lose weight? You mean I don't have to live off of salads? I can still eat ice cream????

Yes. It's ridiculously simple and easy. The hard part is all mental (patience, learning, etc).
  • deast12
    deast12 Posts: 4 Member
    Options
    I am new to myfitnesspal. In 2 months I have lost 24 lbs, just by tracking my food and staying within the calorie limit. I also kept thinking it was a joke, or maybe I am really sick or something. How can just cutting back on calories be the answer???? I still am amazed.
  • Jasmunr
    Options
    deast12 wrote: »
    I am new to myfitnesspal. In 2 months I have lost 24 lbs, just by tracking my food and staying within the calorie limit. I also kept thinking it was a joke, or maybe I am really sick or something. How can just cutting back on calories be the answer???? I still am amazed.

@deast12 glad I'm not alone. It feels so strange. I suppose it comes from the mentality that if something seems too good to be true it probably is. The only time I was sucessful at losing weight before was when I had jaw surgery and went from 136-126. That's only because I was not able to eat anything at all. So actually being able to lose and eat feels strange :). But I've taken pictures and measurements and my body really is changing.
  • JSurita2
    JSurita2 Posts: 1,304 Member
    Options
    Ninkyou wrote: »
    In the beginning yes.