When your family holds you back

Options
Does anyone else struggle with eating right with their family around? I am a college student home for the summer. I eat pretty well when I am at school. I'm currently not working so i don't have much to do during the day. But my family makes it extra hard for me to stay on track. They are constantly eating out or cooking fried foods. My family also all has a sweet tooth and are always offering me cookies or ice cream. Then we sit on the couch watching tv for hours. How do i resist the temptations when my family ALWAYS offers it?

Replies

• Dinotopian
    Dinotopian Posts: 5 Member
    Options
    I'm no expert, but I feel your pain. I have struggled with this trap forEVER! The best solution I have found is prevention. If tv time is hard then make healthy snack packs with ziplock bags in the fridge...once a week or every few days just make a bunch, set them in the fridge in a cute little basket or bowl of some kind and when they offer you junk you grab a bag instead! That way you're not denying yourself, but you also don't have to stop everything to make yourself a separate 'some-assembly-required' snack on the spot. Hope it helps!
  • missiontofitness
    missiontofitness Posts: 4,074 Member
    Options
    I don't have this problem too much...though I did have one distant relative comment on my weight loss by saying "anorexia is around the corner". It hurt; I definitely do not and have never suffered from an ED, and they were making a blanket statement assumption to a year of slow progress and being mindful of making sustainable changes.

My family is relatively good at making good food choices; switching from white to grain bread, reading labels, ect. They still do make decadant homemade stuff from time to time (like scalloped potatoes, lasagna, and really nice barbeque foods), but I make sure to plan for those splurges, and don't get a lot of push back for it.