Help! I can not eat less than 1500 calories a day!

Options
Now, is this a problem? I'm very new in this calorie counting thing and in MFP. This website told me I have to eat 1300. Whatever I do, I'm always around 1500. With exercise I can go below but I can not possibly exercise every day.

Any thoughts?

Replies

• afatpersonwholikesfood
    afatpersonwholikesfood Posts: 577 Member
    Options
    Are you set at 2 lbs per week? If your calories feel too low, go for a slower rate of loss.
  • SherryTeach
    SherryTeach Posts: 2,836 Member
    Options
    Experiment with the settings. If you have a "two pound a week" setting, change that to .5 pounds per week. You will get more calories and it will be sustainable. As for "whatever I do, I'm always around 1500," what does that mean? When I think of "whatever I do" in this context, it means stop eating when you reach your calorie allotment.
  • Jruzer
    Jruzer Posts: 3,501 Member
    Options
    Why can't you exercise every day?
  • mom2ava07
    mom2ava07 Posts: 186 Member
    Options
    For one, how much are you trying to lose and how overweight are you? If you don't have a lot to lose but yet have your weight loss goals set too aggressively (trying to lose weight faster than you should) the app could have your calorie goal set pretty low making it hard for you to stick to. That may not be the case, but just a thought.

Also, if you are new to calorie restriction you will take some time to get used to consuming less food. You will be slightly hungry at times eating at a deficit. The trick is using your calories for more filling foods. Foods high in protein help. I personally liked snacking on almonds to help me fill up, or even protein snack bars (not the meal replacement ones).
  • Magic_Chicken
    Magic_Chicken Posts: 141 Member
    Options