I need Weight training help. Can someone look at my routine and replace machines with Free Weights?

Options
Robb_Lloyd
Robb_Lloyd Posts: 47 Member
edited June 2015 in Fitness and Exercise
I Need Help Adjusting and Developing my Weight Program to lessen my time at the gym.

I am a 40 year old runner by trade but after a recent 7 month layoff because of surgery I came back to working out with a new approach and ideas. I have been working on weight loss and my abs and seeing good results with a very lean low calorie diet and lots of exercise. It has been six weeks since I started and I think I need to switch a few things up now.

I am a newb when it comes to weights at the gym but have been slowly increasing my weights. Since where I workout there is no real chance for a spotter or workout partner I have been using the machines. It was a great start and motivator but now I need to look at more free weights. I don't want huge bulk because as I said before I am a runner but I would like to improve on my decent core and add some upper body definition to go with my abs. Here is my routine as it currently stands. Please let me know what should go and what should be replaced by what. I am currently in gym about an hour and 15 minutes or so Plus with the other stuff it roughly runs me to two hours a day working out. My calories are about to increase a bit but right now I am at 1375 sedentary day. I am told that a few of these exercises can be combined into one with free weights.

Tues 6 Mile Run, Thurs 3 to 4 mile run, Sunday Long run 7 to 8 currently

Gym days Mon, Weds, Fri

1.3 mile walk to gym$
10 or 11 minute 1 mile warm up on treadmill$

Machines Work

-Pec fly 90 lbs 10 reps 3xs
-Seated Dip 90 lbs 8 reps 3xs
-Converging Chst Prs 50 lbs 8 reps.
-Diverging Lat Pull Down 110 lbs 10 reps 3xs
-Converging shldr press 80 lbs 8 reps 3xs
-Biceps Curl 65 lbs10 reps 3xs
-Dip assist 70 lb. assist 10 reps 3xs$
-Chin assist 70 lb assist 10 reps 3xs