Hi from Mississippi

Options
I'm 34 years old and just started a new diet and exercise program last week. I've been battling weight my whole life. I went to college at 5'7", 180 lbs. By my sophomore year, I'd ballooned up to 200+. I decided to get healthy, started lifting, running and eating a touch better. By the time I graduated, I was down to150. I went back to eating whatever I wanted, but kept up a hard exercise regiment and kept the weight off for 3-4 years. Then life--marriage, kids, job-- caught up with me and I stopped exercising. My job had me working extremely long hours behind a desk with incredible levels of stress. I started to reward myself with food. Most of it was unhealthy and I'd eat large quantities. Over the last nine years, I've averaged gains of about ten pounds a year. There have been fluctuations along the way, with many temporarily successful diet and exercise programs, but inevitably, I've petered out and restarted my unhealthy habits. Over the last nine years, I've noticed an increase in snide remarks about my weight and unfriendly glances. I work in a professional world where appearance matters and most of the high performers are quite vain. My confidence has taken a tumble. Even with the weight gain, though, I've always physically been able to perform my job and do pretty much anything else I wanted to do. That is until the last twenty pounds. I'm tired all the time. I don't have the energy to keep up with my kid. I'm starting to experience negative health consequences (chest pains, out of breath). I stepped on the scale last Monday and weighed my heaviest ever: 254.4 pounds. I committed then and there to make whatever life changes I needed to in order to be healthy for myself and my family. I've been on a strict low calorie, low carb diet for a week now and am doing 3 days of lifting and 4 days of cardio a week. I've lost over 10 pounds so far. I know most of that is water weight, but it's a good motivator. So is this site. I've been l